ANWIND

Application Oriented Wind Field Research and Measurements for Wind Turbines

ANWIND is a collaborative research project by the University of Stuttgart (SWE and IFR) and Senvion GmbH. Based on an interdisciplinary wind field investigation, the project is aimed at improving wind field understanding and developing new methods for turbine operation.

Project coordination:
Stuttgart Wind Energy (SWE) at Institute of Aircraft Design, University of Stuttgart
 
Project duration:
January 2016 – December 2018
 

Key aspects

  • Improvement of wind field understanding
  • Development of new measuring systems and methods
  • Optimization of turbine operation through new control algorithms

Motivation

The origin of ANWIND lies in the continuously increasing rotor diameters of newly installed wind turbines and the resulting load increase under non-uniform wind flow conditions. Cross winds and shear particularly impact these plants, which necessitates intensive research into innovative technologies for wind analysis as well as an up-to-date investigation into new control strategies.

Methods

Through a fundamental theoretical investigation into the wind field, application specific models are developed that allow an improved representation of wind field characteristics and dynamics. The models are afterwards verified in three measuring campaigns integrated into the project.

Parallelly, innovative measuring systems and methods are developed. By designing and testing a nacelle based lidar sensor system and novel UAV (Unmanned Aerial Vehicle) sensor networks, the wind field in front of the turbine is captured at high resolution both spatially and temporally. This enables preventive turbine controls and detailed analyses of turbine sites. Fiber optical sensors are utilized to measure rotor blade deflection and capture the wind field within the rotor area. The combined results from all employed measuring systems allow for in-depth comparisons and analyses of the connection between wind field and turbine reaction.

Based on thorough evaluations of the gathered data, the correlation between wind conditions and variances in plant specific parameters, like noise emissions or a plant’s power curve, is investigated.

Furthermore, the high-resolution measuring systems and extensive measuring campaigns of the ANWIND project, provide a foundation for the development and testing of diverse control and pilot control concepts. By utilizing newly developed measuring sensors, the operational management of wind turbines can be optimized.  

 

Work packages (WP)

ANWIND work package overview  (blue: carried out by the University of Stuttgart, green: carried out by Senvion GmbH) © SWE – University of Stuttgart
ANWIND work package overview (blue: carried out by the University of Stuttgart, green: carried out by Senvion GmbH) © SWE – University of Stuttgart

 

Contact and partners

University of Stuttgart

Stuttgart Wind Energy (SWE) at Institute of Aircraft Design
Prof. Dr. Po Wen Cheng
Allmandring 5b
70569 Stuttgart
Germany
  +49 711 / 685-68258
  cheng@ifb.uni-stuttgart.de

 

Flight Mechanics and Controls Lab (IFR)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Walter Fichter
Pfaffenwaldring 27
70569 Stuttgart
Germany
  +49 711 / 685-67060
  fichter@ifr.uni-stuttgart.de

 

Senvion GmbH

Dr.-Ing. Jan Kruse
Überseering 10
22297 Hamburg
Germany
  +49 40 / 5555 090-3009
  jan.kruse@senvion.com

ANWIND

Anwendungsorientierte Windfelderforschung und -messung für Windenergieanlagen

ANWIND ist ein Kooperationsprojekt der Universität Stuttgart (SWE und IFR) und der Senvion GmbH mit dem Ziel durch eine interdisziplinäre Untersuchung und einem daraus hervorgehenden besseren Verständnis des Windfeldes, neue Methoden der Betriebsführung von Windenergieanlagen zu entwickeln.

Projektkoordination:
Stuttgarter Lehrstuhl für Windenergie (SWE) am Institut für Flugzeugbau, Universität Stuttgart
 
Laufzeit des Projektes:
Januar 2016 – Dezember 2018
 

Projektziele

  • Verbesserung des Windfeldverständnisses
  • Entwicklung neuer Messsysteme und -methoden
  • Optimierung der Betriebsführung durch neue Regelalgorithmen

Motivation

Hintergrund von ANWIND sind die stetig wachsenden Rotordurchmesser neu installierter Anlagen und die damit verbundenen stärkeren Belastungen durch ungleichmäßige Windeinströmung. Schräganströmungen und Scherung belasten diese Anlagen in besonderer Weise, was eine Ausweitung des derzeitigen Windfeldverständnisses, eine intensive Beschäftigung mit neuen Technologien zur Windanalyse, sowie eine zeitgemäße Auseinandersetzung mit neuen Regelstrategien dringend erforderlich macht.

Methoden

Durch eine grundlegende theoretische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Windfeld, werden anwendungsspezifische Modelle für eine verbesserte Repräsentation von Charakteristiken und Dynamiken des Windfeldes entwickelt. Die ausgearbeiteten Modelle werden anschließend durch drei in das Projekt integrierte Messkampagnen verifiziert.


Parallel wird die Erarbeitung innovativer Windmesssysteme und neuer Messmethoden angestrebt. Durch die Entwicklung und Erprobung gondelbasierter LiDAR-Sensorik, sowie eines neuartigen UAV-Sensornetzes (Unmanned Aerial Vehicle), wird das Windfeld vor der Anlage räumlich und zeitlich hochaufgelöst erfasst, sodass eine präventive Anlagenregelung und detaillierte Analysen von Anlagenstandorten ermöglicht werden. Um die Zusammenhänge von einströmendem Windfeld und Anlagenreaktionen detailliert vergleichen und analysieren zu können, wird mit Hilfe von faseroptischen Sensoren zur Messung der Blattbiegung auch das Windfeld in der Rotorebene erfasst.

Auf Basis detaillierter Auswertungen der erfassten Daten wird die Korrelation von Windbedingungen und Varianzen anlagenspezifischer Kennwerte, wie der Leistungskurve oder Schallemissionen, untersucht.

Darüber hinaus ermöglicht ANWIND mit seinen hochauflösenden Messgeräten und umfassenden Messkampagnen die Entwicklung und Erprobung diverser Regelungs- und Vorsteuerkonzepte. Unter Nutzung der neu entwickelten Messsensorik, kann so die Betriebsführung von Anlagen optimiert werden.

 

Arbeitspakete (AP)

 

Kontakte und Partner

Universität Stuttgart

Stuttgarter Lehrstuhl für Windenergie (SWE) am Institut für Flugzeugbau
Prof. Dr. Po Wen Cheng
Allmandring 5b
70569 Stuttgart
  +49 711 / 685-68258
 cheng@ifb.uni-stuttgart.de

 

Institut für Flugmechanik und Flugregelung (IFR)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Walter Fichter
Pfaffenwaldring 27
70569 Stuttgart
  +49 711 / 685-67060
 fichter@ifr.uni-stuttgart.de

 

Senvion GmbH

Dr.-Ing. Jan Kruse
Überseering 10
22297 Hamburg
  +49 40 / 5555 090-3009
 jan.kruse@senvion.com