ParkCast

Optimization of minute-scale power forecasts of offshore wind farms using long-range lidar measurements and data assimilation

The ParkCast project aims to develop, optimize and evaluate new methods for short term forecasts of the performance of offshore wind farms. The power forecasts focus on the time range up to 60 minutes with high temporal resolution. The aim is to significantly improve the temporal resolution and forecasting quality of the parking performance in the above-mentioned time period and thus make a contribution to grid stability and supply security. To this end, long-range lidar measurement data are assimilated into a high-resolution, local weather model using new methods based on machine learning (ML). Physical and advanced ML-based prediction models are then used for the power prediction and validated in real time for the alpha ventus offshore wind farm as part of an online test phase.

Project coordination/ project leader:
Prof. Dr. Po Wen Cheng, Stuttgart Chair of Wind Energy at the Institute of Aircraft Design, University of Stuttgart
 
Project duration:
01.11.2018 - 31.10.2021
 

Key aspects

  • Measurement of the wind field in alpha ventus using long-range lidar up to a range of 10 km.
  • Assimilation of lidar data into a high-resolution weather model and development of forecast methods for the wind farm performance in the time range up to 60 minutes.
  • Evaluation of the different forecasts methods for different forecast horizons and demonstration of the methods in online operation.

Motivation

The worldwide expansion of wind energy - especially in the offshore sector - requires the continuous improvement of forecasting methods in order to ensure grid stability and security of supply. Conventional methods for predicting the performance of wind turbines and wind farms are based on weather forecasts and - if available - current local measurement data as the feed-in. The latter allow to improve the first minutes of prediction on statistical relationships, as the spatial and temporal resolution of regional prediction models is not sufficient to capture local changes in wind speed. The aim of the ParkCast project is to close the temporal gap, which is neither captured well by local point measurements nor by weather models. We achieve this by using a long-range lidar to look a few kilometres into the inflow of the wind turbine and thus into the "future".

Methods

Since it is difficult to draw direct conclusions about future power output from the wind speed at a distance of a few kilometres, we will investigate various methods for this purpose. A very promising candidate is the use of a high-resolution, local weather model into which the lidar data is fed ("assimilated"). However, there is another shortcoming here, namely that the current assimilation methods are very (computationally) complex. We will tackle this problem by using machine learning methods, including deep neural networks. The goal is to realize and evaluate power forcasts of the wind farm up to 60 minutes using different methods.

Work packages (WP)

 

Coordination and Partners

 

Kontakte und Partner

 

Stuttgart Wind Energy (SWE) at Institute of Aircraft Design
Prof. Dr. Po Wen Cheng
Allmandring 5b
70569 Stuttgart
Germany
  +49 711 / 685-68258
 cheng@ifb.uni-stuttgart.de

 

Center for Solar Energy and Hydrogen Research Baden-Württemberg (ZSW)
Anton Kaifel
Meitnerstr. 1
70563 Stuttgart
Germany
 +49 711 / 7870238
 anton.kaifel@zsw-bw.de

ParkCast

Optimierung der Kürzestfristvorhersage der Leistung von Offshore-Windparks mittels long-range Lidarmessung und Datenassimilation

Im Vorhaben ParkCast sollen neue Methoden zur Kürzestfristvorhersage der Leistung für Offshore-Windparks entwickelt, optimiert und bewertet werden. Die Leistungsprognosen konzentrieren sich auf den Zeitbereich bis 60 Minuten mit hoher zeitlicher Auflösung. Ziel ist es, die zeitliche Auflösung und  Vorhersagegüte der Parkleistung im o. g. Zeitbereich wesentlich zu verbessern und damit einen Beitrag zu Netzstabilität und Versorgungssicherheit zu leisten. Hierzu werden long-range Lidarmessdaten in ein hochaufgelöstes, lokales Wettermodell mit neuen Verfahren basierend auf maschinellem Lernen (ML) assimiliert. Für die Leistungsvorhersage werden dann physikalische sowie weiter entwickelte ML-basierte Prognosemodelle angewandt und im Rahmen einer Online-Erprobungsphase in Echtzeit für den Offshore-Windpark alpha ventus validiert.

Projektkoordination:
Stuttgarter Lehrstuhl für Windenergie (SWE) am Institut für Flugzeugbau, Universität Stuttgart
 
Laufzeit des Projektes:
01.11.2018 – 31.10.2021
 

Projektziele/ Forschungsschwerpunkte

  • Vermessung des Windfeldes in alpha ventus mittels long-range Lidar bis zu einer Reichweite von 10 km.
  • Assimilation der Lidardaten in ein hochaufgelöstes Wettermodell und Entwicklung von Prognoseverfahren für die Windparkleistung im Zeitbereich bis 60 Minuten
  • Bewertung der verschiedenen Parkleistungsprognosen für unterschiedliche Vorhersagehorizonte und Demonstration der Methoden im Onlinebetrieb.

Motivation

Der weltweite Ausbau der Windenergie – insbesondere auch im Offshorebereich– zwingt zur stetigen Verbesserung von Vorhersageverfahren, um Netzstabilität und Versorgungssicherheit weiterhin zu gewährleisten. Herkömmliche Verfahren zur Vorhersage der Leistung von Windenergieanlagen und Windparks basieren auf Wettervorhersagen und – falls verfügbar – aktuellen lokalen Messdaten der Einspeisung. Letztere erlauben es, die ersten Minuten der Vorhersage über statistische Zusammenhänge zu verbessern, da die räumliche und zeitliche Auflösung regionaler Vorhersagemodelle nicht ausreicht um lokale Änderungen der Windgeschwindigkeit zu erfassen. Ziel des Projektes ParkCast ist es, die zeitliche Lücke zu schließen, die weder von lokalen Punktmessungen noch von Wettermodellen gut erfasst wird. Dies erreichen wir, indem wir mit einem Long-Range-Lidar einige Kilometer in den Zustrom der Windkraftanlage und damit in die „Zukunft“ schauen.

Methoden

Da es schwierig ist, von der Windgeschwindigkeit in einigen Kilometern Entfernung direkt auf die zukünftige Leistung zu schließen, werden wir hierfür verschiedene Methoden untersuchen. Ein sehr aussichtsreicher Kandidat ist dabei die Verwendung eines hochaufgelösten, lokalen Wettermodells, in das die Lidardaten eingespeist („assimiliert“) werden. Hierbei gibt es allerdings eine weitere Unzulänglichkeit, nämlich dass die gängigen Assimilationsverfahren sehr (rechen-)aufwändig sind. Dieses Problem werden wir durch die Verwendung maschineller Lernverfahren angehen, u. a. Tiefe Neuronale Netze. Ziel ist es dann Parkleistungsvorhersagen bis 60 Minuten mittels verschiedener Methoden zu realisieren und diese zu bewerten.

Arbeitspakete (AP)

 

Koordination und Partner

 

Kontakte und Partner

 

Stuttgarter Lehrstuhl für Windenergie (SWE) am Institut für Flugzeugbau
Prof. Dr. Po Wen Cheng
Allmandring 5b
70569 Stuttgart
  +49 711 / 685-68258
 cheng@ifb.uni-stuttgart.de

 

Zentrum für Sonnenenergie- und Wasserstoff-Forschung Baden-Württemberg (ZSW)
Anton Kaifel
Meitnerstr. 1
70563 Stuttgart
 +49 711 / 7870238
 anton.kaifel@zsw-bw.de