OpenRAVE

The overall objective of OpenRAVE is to continue expanding the valuable and globally unique data set of measurements at alpha ventus and to enable research projects to access this data. The uniform and automated quality control of the measurement data will be continued and further developed. In-situ sea state data from German measuring sites will continue to be pooled and made available in a uniform way on the sea state portal. For this purpose, four additional sea state measuring sites will be set up in German offshore wind farms and the data from the sea state stations of the state authorities as well as research institutions will be acquired. In addition, highly specialized sea state data products for the offshore wind industry and research are created.

Further information on the measuring service can be found under Measurements and Data Management and Oceanography.

Further information and general data on the OpenRAVE project can also be found here on the website of the Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency (BSH).

For more information on RAVE coordination by Fraunhofer IWES, see Project Coordination.

Duration of the project:
02/2020 – 01/2025

 

Subproject:
Development of online modules for sea state evaluations to optimize the logistics of offshore operations

The wind, wave and current data provided will be analyzed regarding their correlation and interaction. The measuring sites will be linked to each other to create an area-wide assessment basis in the German Bight for offshore logistic vessel operations and to define design parameters based on the development combinations.

Duration of the subproject: 
2020-2022

  

Aims of the project

The Ludwig-Franzius-Institut (LuFI) contributes the following work packages:

  • Correlating environmental data, wind-wave and directional dependencies, as well as the influence of wind speed and duration on the reaction time of the sea state.
  • In order to take into account location dependent tidal influences, analytical approaches will be optimized for the quantification of influence of currents on waves by means of measurement data from the sea state portal.
  • For the optimization of time windows for offshore operations, the results from wind, wave and current analyses are linked with the motion characteristics of generic work vessels, which are linked to and contributed by the joint research project "AVIMo" (FKZ: 0324350A). In “AVIMo”, physical and numerical modeling is used to investigate the relationship of the work vessel’s sea-keeping and the interlinked limitations of work operations at offshore wind farms. The resulting limitations of the work vessels provide input for the sea state modules and for illustrated maps of the German Bight. The analyzed and extrapolated environmental data in connection to the sea-keeping properties assist cost estimations and forecasts of the operational capability of offshore work vessels.
  • Finally, the data interfaces for the implementation of the modules into the sea state portal as well as automatic updating functions are developed.

Contacts

Project-Coordination  

Mayumi Wilms
BSH - Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency

 mayumi.wilms@bsh.de
 www.bsh.de

Project Management  

Arndt Hildebrandt
Ludwig-Franzius-Institute for Hydraulic, Estuarine and Coastal Engineering

 hildebrandt@lufi.uni-hannover.de
 www.lufi.uni-hannover.de/

Processing  

Lukas Fröhling
Ludwig-Franzius-Institute for Hydraulic, Estuarine and Coastal Engineering

 froehling@lufi.uni-hannover.de
 www.lufi.uni-hannover.de/

OpenRAVE

Grundsätzliches Ziel von OpenRAVE ist es, den an alpha ventus gewonnenen, weltweit einmaligen und wertvollen Datensatz fortzuführen und Forschungsprojekten Zugang zu diesen Daten zu ermöglichen. Die einheitliche und automatisierte Qualitätskontrolle der Messdaten wird fortgeführt und weiterentwickelt. Es werden weiterhin in-situ Seegangsdaten von deutschen Messstationen gebündelt und einheitlich im Seegangsportal bereitgestellt. Hierfür werden vier weitere Seegangsmessstationen in deutschen Offshore-Windparks aufgebaut und die Daten der Seegangsstationen der Landesbehörden sowie Forschungseinrichtungen akquiriert. Daneben werden hochspezialisierte Seegangsdatenprodukte für die Offshore-Wind-Industrie und Forschung erstellt.

Weitere Informationen zum Messservice finden Sie unter Messserviceprojekt und Ozeanographie.

Weiterführende Informationen und allgemeine Daten zum Projekt OpenRAVE finden Sie auch hier auf der Webseite des Bundesamt für Seeschifffahrt und Hydrographie (BSH).

Weitere Informationen zur RAVE-Koordination durch das Fraunhofer IWES finden Sie im Projekt Koordination.

Laufzeit des Projektes:
2020-2025

 

Teilprojekt:
Entwicklung von Seegangsportal-Modulen zur Optimierung der Logistik von Offshore-Einsätzen

Die bereitgestellten Wind-, Wellen- und Strömungsdaten werden hinsichtlich ihrer Korrelation und Interaktion analysiert. Hierbei werden die Messstandorte zu Stützstellen miteinander verknüpft, um eine flächige Bewertungsgrundlage in der Deutschen Bucht für offshore-logistische Schiffseinsätze zu schaffen und Bemessungsparameter anhand der Entwicklungskombinationen zu entwickeln.

Laufzeit des Teilprojektes:
2020-2022

  

Projektziele des Teilprojekts

Das Ludwig-Franzius-Institut (LuFI) deckt folgende Arbeitspakete ab:

  • Durch die Korrelation von Umweltdaten werden Wind-Welle- und Richtungs-Abhängigkeiten, sowie der Einfluss von Windstärke und Einwirkungsdauer auf die Reaktionszeit des Seegangs untersucht.
  • Zur Berücksichtigung standortabhängiger Tide-Einflüsse, werden analytische Ansätze mithilfe der Messdaten aus dem Seegangsportal für die Quantifizierung der Strömungsbeeinflussung auf Wellen optimiert.
  • Für die Optimierung von Offshore-Zeitfenstern werden die Ergebnisse aus den Wind-, Wellen- und Strömungsanalysen mit den Bewegungseigenschaften generischer Arbeitsschiffe verknüpft, die aus dem Verbundprojekt „AVIMo“ (FKZ: 0324350A) mit eingebunden werden. Im Verbundprojekt „AVIMo“ werden mittels physikalischer und numerischer Modellierungen die Zusammenhänge zwischen Schiffbewegungen im Seegang und die damit verbundene Limitierung von Arbeitseinsätzen in Offshore-Windparks untersucht. Die daraus resultierenden Einsatzgrenzen der Arbeitsschiffe dienen als Input für die Erstellung flächiger Übersichtskarten der Nordsee. Basierend auf den analysierten und interpolierten Umweltdaten wird eine Prognose zur Einsatzfähigkeit von Offshore-Arbeitsschiffen in der Deutschen Bucht ermöglicht.
  • Abschließend werden Schnittstellen für die Implementierung der Module in das Seegangsportal, sowie eine automatische Aktualisierung entwickelt.

Kontakte und Partner

Projekt-Koordination
Mayumi Wilms

BSH – Bundesamt für Seeschifffahrt und Hydrographie

 


mayumi.wilms@bsh.de

www.bsh.de

 

Teilprojekt-Leitung
Arndt Hildebrandt

Ludwig-Franzius-Institut für Wasserbau, Ästuar- und
Küsteningenieurwesen

 


hildebrandt@lufi.uni-hannover.de

www.lufi.uni-hannover.de/

Bearbeitung
Lukas Fröhling

Ludwig-Franzius-Institut für Wasserbau, Ästuar- und
Küsteningenieurwesen


froehling@lufi.uni-hannover.de

www.lufi.uni-hannover.de/